My potting table

Woebegone. Did I really just write that?

“Operation central”

A good solid potting table is an essential piece of equipment for the avid gardener.  It’s  “operation central”.  Not only is it where I plant all my succulent containers, it’s a place to store everything that I use in the garden.  Woebegone the person that uses a gardening tool taken from the potting table and doesn’t return it to its home.

My husband Pat has a different gardening style from mine, he leaves his tools all over the yard. When he can’t find his string or scissors or trowel, guess where he goes? I can’t really complain though, since he is my main carpenter.

Carpenter-ing.

Carpenter-ing.

For this potting table, we actually had to buy wood from the local lumber store, but the rest was scavenged from here and there (“Re-purpose” should really be my middle name).  Discarded lattice work, two by fours, shutters and even left-over paint.

A good potting table has shelving to store pots and such, and a place to hang all your tools.  My last table had a recessed bowl, about 16 inches diameter that I used to mix and keep the soil I’m working with. I’m still trying to convince Pat to cut a big hole in this table.

Shelves.

Shelves. Lots of ’em.

This is where all the magic happens in my yard.  A place for everything and everything in its place. There is a rain barrel adjacent to the table, so access to a water supply is extremely convenient. I like everything within reach so I also keep large tubs of potting soil right underneath the table.100_2025

There you have it ladies (and gentlemen). If your husband isn’t very handy, get him to buy one instead!!

One thought on “My potting table

Leave a Reply

