Some Pre-Market Selling

Blackeyed Susan.

Blackeyed Susan.

Every Saturday morning we like to get up at the crack of dawn to go “sailing”…garage sailing that is! Last week we didn’t go because I found out on Friday night that two  neighbours were holding garage sales. Not one to miss an opportunity, I went into  overdrive. I made signs, cleared everything off the two tables in the garage, brought all  the plants into the garage, and found the pricing gun.

Open for business.

Open for business.

I didn’t expect to do very well because your typical garage sailor is not looking for  plants, they are looking for treasures.  But I thought I might get some good exposure by telling people about my stall at the market Sunday mornings.

My first customer was a recently retired lady who volunteers at the High School  greenhouse, for the special needs program. She was very taken with my succulent planters and wanted to take pictures for her students.

Say cheese.

Say cheese.

Later on I recognized a woman whose garage sale I had been at weeks earlier, so I  know she is an avid gardener. She pretty much bought all my perennials. I could see  she wanted a garden tour, so I showed her round my yard. I have about ten varieties of hostas, but when she saw my common hostas she said that it is hard to find them now.  I went and got a spade and dug them up for her. She tried to pay me but I said there’s  no charge, I just enjoy sharing my gardening efforts with a kindred spirit. Apparently, I  made her day. (See, you don’t have to trick me into sharing my plants with you!)

My rare common hostas. Ha!

My rare common hostas. Ha!

All in all it was worth all the hard work because of the exposure I got.

2 thoughts on “Some Pre-Market Selling

Leave a Reply

