Mistaken car identity

We bought our first brand-new-off-the-lot car in 2009, after 34 years of marriage. For the first 34 years we always bought used, some of them were beaters I can tell you. This was because Pat was a licenced auto-mechanic and it was against his religion to buy a brand new one. He has actually saved us a whole pile of money during that time. They may not have been good to look at, but under the hood everything was A.O.K. There’s not much that Pat doesn’t know about cars.

6 years ago when we needed another car I came across a Suzuki display in the middle of the local shopping Mall and I said to myself, “that is my next car.” All I had to do was convince Pat.

It took some doing, but a couple of weeks later I was the proud owner of a SX4 Suzuki. Pat was mortified, but even he had to admit that it was a sweet ride, even if it looks like a woman’s car.

love this little car

love this little car

There’s not many of this model around, in fact, to my knowledge there’s only two others in town. Keep that in mind as you read on.

We did some out-of-town christmas shopping last year and I must have wore Pat out. We had shopped ’til we dropped. When we went out to the parking lot, he headed towards a blue Suzuki alright–same model, same colour–but their windows weren’t tinted like ours. I was lagging too far behind so he didn’t hear me when I shouted to him that that wasn’t our car. I saw him pull the keys out to “pop” the trunk and he put our bags in, then he went to the driver’s side and opened the door.

By now, I was doubled over, laughing hysterically. When the hatchback popped open I could see that there was a woman sitting behind the wheel of the car, a quick check of the licence plate verified it wasn’t ours.

Pat actually asked the woman what she was doing in our car. She had a look of horror on her face at first, but then she saw me curled up laughing. It was hilarious. So much for Pat knowing everything there is to know about cars.

Side note. The first time we buy a new car, the Suzuki brand leaves the North American continent leaving us high and dry!! No more new cars for us.

2 thoughts on “Mistaken car identity

    • Nana Jen says:

      I think things like this might happen more often as we get older. He used to make me laugh all the time when we first started dating, and now i’m laughing for whole other reasons!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

