Christmas Displays around the house

100_3676_Fotor

I love Christmas and I love decorating, so, the last week of November I haul out all the storage totes from under the stairs, pile them up in the family room and try to organize what goes where. At the end of the season I try to pack away according to displays in different areas of the house, thinking it will make things easier next year. Sometimes this works, sometimes it doesn’t.

100_3549_Fotor

Greens, tulle, glass jars, deer and ornaments all nestled in a tote

This year I started a bit earlier because I’ve been an exhibitor at a few Christmas Craft shows and I decided to re-purpose some of the stuff that I haven’t been using. Turns out, I’m guilty of being a Christmas decoration hoarder, even I couldn’t believe the amount of decorations that filled the family room. There was no room to move, it looks like someone has dropped a bomb in there.  I should have signed up for ten craft shows.

By the time I had thinned out the supplies I still had fifteen totes left. After much humming and hawing I decided to put out the display I usually put on the dining room table, that way I will stop using the dining room as a crafting area.

The base for this display is a restaurant-sized pizza tray (garage sale find).  We also use it to serve pizza!

100_3551_Fotor

Glass jar with tulle for snow

I actually bought these two blue trees from the dollar store this year, even though I really didn’t need them.  If you’re on a budget and don’t like to pay the prices at Michaels Craft Supply Store, the Dollarama has some good finds.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the crafting  supplies at Michaels. I just can’t justify their prices, unless of course, you have a 25% coupon off already reduced at 70% merchandise.  Anyways, I stuffed some tulle into the glass jar and nestled one of the newly acquired trees in there.

Next, I joined three branches of greens into a circle, fluffed them out and laid on the tray, adding the other tree and some battery operated lights (also from the Dollar store).

100_3551_Fotor_Fotor_Collage As usual, even though I pack the deer into boxes, the antlers always get broken.  Try and use porcelain glue to repair, not the glue gun, otherwise  you won’t get a good join .

100_3551_Fotor_Fotor_Collage (3)

Add deer, ornaments and more trees

After you’ve repaired your broken ornaments (I cant bear to throw things away), start arranging them on a tray. Guess what other trees came from the dollar store?  I just keep adding things until the display looks ‘just right’, or, until I absolutely, positively can’t fit anything else on the dish

100_3551_Fotor_Fotor_Collage (4)

And that’s it, a Christmas ‘tablescape’.  #tinyflashesofdelight indeed.

100_3657_Fotor

 

 

3 thoughts on “Christmas Displays around the house

  1. Mary says:

    Jennifer. I bought a gorgeous deco mesh wreath from you at Kountry Kraft and need another – it was very popular with my friends. Please contact me. Thanks, Mary

    Like

Leave a Reply

