Decomesh Christmas Wreaths

I love this stuff

I love this stuff

I recently discovered Decomesh when I was decorating the upside-down tomato-cage trees, see earlier post. It is definitely a must-have in any crafters box of tools. There’s no end to what you can do with this medium.

I’ve been extremely busy creating things for some Christmas shows just recently, but I took the time to record “how-to” make a simple  mesh wreath.   Its a little bit fiddly to work with, but once  you’ve mastered the ins and outs,  and depending on how much you want to spend on embellishments  you can create some fantastic wreaths.  Just google  ” decomesh” for inspiration.

1 – Start by gathering all the tools you will need.

mesh, scissors, pine wreath, wire and glue gun

mesh, scissors, pine wreath, wire and glue gun

2 – I bought my wreath from the dollar store for $3.00, but I’ve since taken to making my own out of grapevine to keep costs down. At first I spread all the branches of the wreath out , but, this proved to be too100_3460cumbersome when I started adding the mesh, so I bent all the branches inwards and this worked better.100_3465 (2)

3   Fold over the first four or five inches of the decomesh roll, making a loop, secure with a length of wire,   about ten inches long. (don’t snip off the ends of the wire just yet, it might come in handy later on).  100_3462

Position starting loop on the wreath and secure with the wire.100_3461

For the next loop use a length of 8 to 10 inches of mesh, (no need to wire) pinch it in and secure to wreath using one of the wreath branches.  Make sure to cinch it really tight.  100_3473 Using the same roll work your way  all around the wreath.  I left a 2 foot length of mesh at the end because I wasn’t sure if I was going to use the mesh or ribbon, for a bow.  Using the same method, add the other colours to the wreath, weaving in and out as you go.100_3456_Fotor_Collage

Any lopsided spots can be fixed by adding a single section of looped mesh, securing with a branch

.4 – Embellishment is the last step.  I kept it pretty simple for my first few efforts. I used both wire and the glue gun to add the extras. Sometimes you have no choice but to use the glue gun,  although  wiring is definitely the best method. (remember those long pieces of wire used at the beginning?  now is the time to use them).

9_Fotor (2)_Fotor_Collage

I used pine cones, berry sprays, ornaments and bows on this one

5.  Last but not least,  make a ‘hanging’ loop out of pipe cleaner and attach to the top of the wreath at the back.8_Fotor_Fotor_Fotor_Collage

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Decomesh Christmas Wreaths

Leave a Reply

