Mincemeat Pies (the easy method)

100_3730_FotorSome people might think they are in the festive spirit when they have trimmed their Christmas tree and decorated the rest of their house.  Not so. In our house it’s not Christmas until there’s batches of mincemeat pies and sausage rolls on the table. Today was that day.  Pat smelled them as soon as he walked through the front door.  Within four hours we have pretty much polished them all off and I will have to make some more tomorrow.

Here’s how I make mine:

Turn stove to 450 degrees

Gather everything you need

100_3685_Fotor

Jar of mincemeat, rum, pastry, icing sugar, flour

I always add extra rum to the mincemeat ahead of time, so it’s got time to infuse into the mixture. I never make pastry anymore, I buy ready-made pie crusts (makes about  18).  That’s not lazy, its smart

My mother gave me these pastry cutters when I got married (40 years ago) and I still use them.  Little bit of nostalgia there

100_3685_Fotor_Collage (3)

Lets get started then:

1 – Lightly sprinkle flour onto board before starting to prevent pastry sticking. Using largest pastry cutter, cut out 12 pieces. Then, using the smallest cutter, cut out the same number.  Put large rounds into baking tray.

Do not discard the left-overs, you can knead them into a ball, roll it out and make another 6 tarts.100_3685_Fotor_Collage (2)

3 – Put one heaping teaspoon of mixture into each tart round and then top with the smaller cut-out.  Place into the pre-heated oven  on middle rack ( I use the middle rack  for everything, it’s the only  one I’ve got!)100_3685_Fotor_Collage (4)

4 –  Bake for about 15 to 20 minutes, until golden brown

100_3719_Fotor

5 – I put the baked tarts on a cooling tray and then lightly dust with icing sugar before putting them in festive cupcake cases.100_3685_Fotor_Collage (5)

That’s it.  Some for us, some for family.

100_3685_Fotor_Collage (6)

Presentation is everything though, so I set up the Christmas goodie station on the dining-room table. You just never know when you will need a little snack.

100_3733_Fotor

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

