On Retirement

After humming and hawing for months last year, I finally decided to end a thirty year career  with no notice to my employer. I went in to work on a beautiful summers day and thought to myself why I am still here when I could be at home puttering around in my garden, doing what I do best.

I had wanted to leave a week earlier but there were some loose ends to tie up. I had a couple of meetings scheduled with upper management for Thursday morning and because I had made a committment to see a project through to its completion, I stayed on until then. After the meetings I handed my boss an envelope, shook his hand, told him what a pleasure it had been working with him and took my leave. Most people in the room had figured it out during the meetings because I had been dropping hints like crazy, but not my immediate boss. He was completely taken aback. In retrospect, I could have handled the situation better, but when you’ve made your mind up to leave you just want it over with. Like Jerry Seinfeld says about removing a bandaid – one rip and its off.

Here I am 7 months later, having just got up at at 8am (instead of 6am), having a relaxing start to the day, cup of tea in hand, getting ready for my day. A day like any other day, in which I cram as much into it as I can. Its been a while since my last post so I thought I would write this before I get started with painting, my new favourite pasttime.signs 014_Fotor

One of the things I hear a lot of retired people saying is that they don’t know how they ever had the time to actually go to work since they are so busy now. I have refused to say that, until now,  but it’s true. I think one of the reasons is that we are afraid that if we don’t fill our days full of things to do we will feel that we aren’t contributing members of society and we will  have less self-worth. Which is ridiculous. I am now finding the time and energy to do all those little things I couldn’t do when I was working because I was just so tired when I got home.

If you’ve been following this blog you will know that I am an avid gardener, with a stall at the Fort Erie Racetrack Farmers Market through the summer months. I  have also started exhibiting at Craft shows since October and that has kept me extremely busy. My daughter lives in Northern California, and we’ve been there  twice since October. None of this would have been possible if I was still working.

So why on earth would I apply for a 5-month contract job with the Government?  I’m not sure. When I first retired I thought it would be a good idea to get a parttime job, you know, one or two days a week. But those jobs are hard to come by. Also, apparently if you are 60 or over, good luck getting an interview. I had forgotten all about this government job I had applied for about 4 months ago, when they called me. Oh joy, someone  finally wants me!!!

I made it through to the 4th round in the hiring process, when it hit me. Do I really want to comitt to a 40 hours a week job ( plus overtime if necessary). I know in my heart that although I would love the challenge that this conract job represents, I don’t think I’m ready to give up my new found freedom as a retiree. The freedom to do what I want, when I want and most importantly, if I want.

12717176_10204487043930059_3506583998022553892_n

 

Okay, back to work, my painting is calling me!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “On Retirement

    • Nana Jen says:

      I was worried about beinng stuck in the house during the long cold winter, but here it is middle of February, spring is around the corner and I haven’t been at a loose end at all. I consider myself to be very fortunate. Thanks for reading!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

