Small perennial planters

First day of the Farmers Market is fast approaching and I don’t think you can ever have too much product. So I decided to plant up two matching pots today, given to me by my friend Dayna who I used to work with before I retired many moons ago. 037

It’s been extremely hot and dry here so I had to wait for the shade to grace my potting table because once I start a project I like to finish it, and this humidity is totally draining. 041

This potting table looks nothing like it did last year when it was first built, it was a thing of beauty and now it is totally a utilitarian work space. I keep everything I need at hand in its own place so I can reach for whatever tool I need without even thinking about it. I really don’t know what I did without it.

Okay, let’s get started. I have no preference for potting medium, I just buy anything that’s on sale, I usually add some perlite, peat-moss  and a bit of garden soil to the mix.

I like to mix the ingredients in this giant container which stays tucked underneath the table to keep it dry when it rains. (haha, I wish).036

TOOLS OF THE TRADE

042

That dibbler was the best garage sale find

Next, I need to go “shopping” from  my stock of perennials and annuals. I really don’t have a plan, I just like to have a different mix of foliage and I’m a sucker for white flowers. If you’ve ever seen the Vicar of Dibley with Dawn French, she’s a great comedienne by the way, there’s a character on there called Mrs. Cropley who likes to mix things up when it comes to food. Well, I’m the Mrs. Cropley of garden planters because I like to mix things up as well.

I started with these plants,  to get the show rolling, knowing it wouldn’t be enough, but you’ve got to start somewhere.

046

Hostas, Heuchera, grass, white-flowered annual and purple lamium

Earlier in the season I had bought a couple of trays of annuals in six packs which I transferred to four inch pots. They are coming along quite nicely just look at those roots. These are gardening hands, I don’t even know why I put nail polish on it just gets destroyed because I don’t wear gloves. Apparently working with soil bare-handed is supposed to beneficial,  all I know is that I can accomplish more with the gloves off!047

Half-way through the process I noticed that I had an audience of hornets who had set up shop in the top left corner of the potting table. They will have to be dealt with by the hubby later, because I am a big chicken when it comes to creatures that will sting you just for the heck of it. But they kept to themselves, so I just kept on working.

043

Once I had the plants in place,  I had to go in search of some fillers, so I added a few sedums that will spill over. Even though they are supposed to have different watering needs, I find that sedums do pretty good in this kind of container.049

Here’s the back view of the other one048

These will fill out quite nicely by June 12th.051

Leave a Reply

