Market Prep

June 12th marks the start up of the Fort Erie Racetrack Farmers Market and I have been busy for the last three months working hard to make sure I have enough product to sell and also trying to improve on my display.

I decided to splurge on a pop-up tent this year and be outdoors where I think most of the action is, the only downside to that plan will be the weather.

We had a trial run a couple of weeks ago, because I don’t want any surprises on the first day. Turned out that was a good idea, being as I have added to the plant section that I had last year. I branched out into painting wood signs this winter and I was looking for a good way to  display signs and plants without it looking like a jumble sale.

Pat made those  display crates out of reclaimed wood, and  I had been using them up on the tables to give added height, but they really are too big for those tables.  So they can stay on the ground, I’ll figure something out.018

This is an inside view017015

I will also be selling perennials this year. I have quite a big garden with a host of different varieties of perennials just crying out to be split.  Last Fall I was already planning ahead, I dug up and split plants like they were going out of style. We planted them in the vegetable garden, pots and all to over-winter. In the Spring we dug them up, I repotted them all in new containers with fresher soil and now I have close to two hundred babies ready to go to Market.

I decided to integrate my plant sales by making display signs for them, nothing like leaving something to the last minute and if someone wants to buy the signs then that’s a bonus.

Wish me luck on Sunday

Leave a Reply

